This site uses cookies to provide a better experience. By continuing with the navigation you accept the use of cookies by us OK




Italian citizenship and the PLIDA certification

Since October 2018, in order to apply for Italian citizenship the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs requires the applicants to have obtained a PLIDA qualification to prove proficiency in the Italian language.

The PLIDA certificate is based on a 6-level scale according to the parameters established by the Common European Framework for Languages (A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2). The Minimum level of Italian required for Italian citizenship is B1.

In Hong Kong the only center where you can take this qualification is currently the Dante Alighieri Society.


Certificates of Italian as a foreign language

The Certificates of Italian recognizes the proficiency level in Italian as a foreign language. They are addressed to non native speakers.

No particular qualifications are required to take these exams.

The Italian Cultural Institutes are authorized for these exams through an agreement that the Ministry of Foreign Affairs has entered with the following institutions: 

Università per Stranieri di Perugia (CELI – CIC) 

Università per Stranieri di Siena (CILS) 

Università degli Studi Roma Tre (IT - ele.IT) 

Società Dante Alighieri (PLIDA)

Click here to get information about the exams organised by La Dante in Hong Kong.